

Faculty and Student Recital:

2023-04-15 - Brass Showcase





Access to audio and video playlists restricted to current faculty, staff, and students. If you have questions, please contact the Rita Benton Music Library at lib-music@uiowa.edu.



BRASS SHOWCASE CONCERT

Hawkeye Horn Trio **Spooner Brass Quintet Burlington Trio** Astral Brass Quintet Iowa Brass Quintet

Saturday, April 15, 2023 at 5:30pm

Stark Opera Studio (0151 VOX)

PROGRAM

Moto Kategoria Nick Feingold (b. 2001)

I. Chase II. Wander III. Stride IV. Roam

> Hawkeye Horn Trio Anna Cullinan, horn Delaney Hajek, horn Katy Ambrose, horn

A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square

Eric Maschwitz (1901-1969) and Manning Sherwin (1902-1974) Arranged by Jack Gale (1936-2022)

Spooner Brass Quintet Jada Spooner, trumpet Cole Hobza, trumpet Joy Breiten, horn Jake Greenlee, trombone Drew Bonner, tuba

Two Movements from The Bushwakker Six Pack III. Screamin' Mosquito Chili Beer

I. Stubblejumper

Elizabeth Raum (b. 1945)

Burlington Trio

Kevin Sells, trumpet Keelie Kruse, horn Aura Strohschein, piano

Killer Tango Sonny Kompanek (b. 1943)

> **Astral Brass Quintet** Joanna Leston, trumpet Sara Lyons, trumpet

Anna Cullinan, horn Ethan Sherer, trombone Matt Sleep, tuba

Brass Quintet [*World premiere]

Michael Eckert (b. 1950)

- I. Andante comodo
- II. Andante elegiaco
- III. Andante

Iowa Brass Quintet
Michael Gause, trumpet
Caylan Laundrie, trumpet
Katie Ambrose, horn
Jonathan Allen, trombone
John Manning, tuba

Professor Emeritus **Michael Eckert** (b. 1950) studied composition with John Richard Ronsheim at Antioch College, and with Ralph Shapey at the University of Chicago, receiving an M.A. in music history and theory in 1975 and the Ph.D. in composition in 1977. Before coming to Iowa in 1985 he taught at Colorado State University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Tulane University, and Antioch College. His awards for composition include the Bearns Prize from Columbia University, a Charles E. Ives Scholarship from the National Institute of Arts and Letters, a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, and the Music Teachers National Association Distinguished Composer of the Year award. He has been a fellow at the Charles Ives Center for American Music, and the Wellesley Composers Conference.

As a music historian and theorist Eckert has published articles on the music of the Italian composer Luigi Dallapiccola in *Perspectives of New Music*, *The Music Review*, and *Studi Musicali*. He received a Fulbright Junior Fellowship to Italy and a National Endowment for the Humanities Travel to Collections grant to research Dallapiccola's manuscripts. He also has a longstanding interest in Renaissance music, having written conference papers on the music of Johannes Ockeghem (d. 1497), and directed the UI Collegium Musicum from 1993 to 1995.

The Iowa Brass Quintet was first formed as a resident faculty ensemble at The University of Iowa in the early 1960s. The group performs on the University of Iowa campus each semester and for schools, universities, and community concert associations throughout the Midwest. The IBQ has presented many elementary, junior high and high school concerts in Iowa and Illinois, considering this activity an important part of their outreach. The IBQ has performed at the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) conference, the Iowa Bandmasters' Association (IBA) annual conference, the Society of Composers, Inc. (SCI) National Conference, and the (NACWPI) national convention.

The IBQ has been committed since its inception to the performance and promotion of new music for brass quintet. In its early years the group recorded for CRI and Trilogy Records, and it has premiered works by Charles Wuorinen, Allan Blank, Paul Turok, and James Dowd, and Marti Epstein. The Iowa Brass Quintet has released four recordings: *The Iowa Brass Quintet* (1973), which included works by Blank, Brown, Huggler and Reynolds; *Works of William Mayer* (1973) *Sounding Brass* (1976) included works by Bozza, Bach, Husa, Mouret, Wilbeye, Leclerc and Smoker; and *Americana* (1997), which included works by Clapp, Grant, Bezanson, Marti Epstein, John White, Gwyneth Walker and Charles Ives and celebrates The University of Iowa Sesquicentennial by presenting music composed by faculty and students who have been associated with the UI School of Music.